🎉   Welcome to our new web site!   🎉

For the next 30 days, we’re providing free access to non-subscribers so you can see what we have to offer. And if you subscribe by June 1, you’ll get a 25% discount on your subscription! We hope you’ll like what you see and want to support local media.

Letter to the editor: Make informed choices


Make informed choices

Because of term limits, three of the five seats on the South Suburban Parks and Recreation District’s Board of Directors are open for election on May 8.  Over the next four years, the three newly elected board members will be responsible for overseeing the District’s $70-plus million annual budget and nearly $140 million in capital improvement projects. The board’s decisions will shape recreational experiences of 150,000-plus district residents and influence property values and the economic health of our entire south metro community.  So voters should choose wisely.

Being current and past SSPRD boardmembers, we know the knowledge and time commitment needed to be effective in these positions. We ask you to consider these candidates in casting your votes:

• Susan Pye, chair of Centennial’s Senior Commission, is respected in our community for her advocacy of seniors and development of programs that keep seniors safe, active, healthy and independent. Susan is skilled in working with budgets and area municipalities and would be a productive board leader.

• Pete Barrett, executive director of the Littleton Soccer Club, is an ardent district supporter and advocate of youth sports, believing that lessons learned early through team play form a valuable foundation for life. Pete’s knowledge of the district and youth sports would benefit the board’s actions.

• Dave Lawful, Chair of the Lone Tree Citizens’ Recreation Advisory Committee, is a cyclist highly familiar with South Suburban’s extensive trail system, and his knowledge would be a board asset.

District residents and property owners may vote either at the polls on May 8 or by applying for a mail ballot  then returning the ballot by 7 p.m. on Election Day.  Poll locations, the ballot application, and bios of all nine candidates running for these three open seats can be found at www.ssprd.org.  

Scott LaBrash

Current vice chair, SSPRD Board of Directors

Sue Rosser

SSPRD boardmember 2008-2016

Kay Geitner

SSPRD Boardmember 2004-2012

Dennis Reynolds

SSPRD Boardmember 2000-2008


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.