Noon re-elected; Gotto, Turley, Truhlar, Whelan win council seats


Centennial’s popular mayor, Cathy Noon, was handily re-elected Tuesday night, defeating political newcomer Monika Bromley by a more than 3-to-1 vote margin.

And in the city’s only ballot question, voters handily approved 2G, which will allow the city council to explore forming a public/private partnership to develop its nascent fiber optic network, with the goal of providing gigabit Internet service to city residents and businesses.

The ballot question passed with a whopping 75% of voter support.

In races for four council seats, Mark Gotto, who ran unopposed, will replace Rebecca McClelland in District 3.

Senior advocate Kathy Turley pulled 55 % of the vote, defeating Mike Hanbery. Turley will replace Rick Dindinger in District 1.

Garnering 53% of the vote, attorney Doris Truhlar defeated Theresa Martens and will replace Sue Bosier in District 2.

And in this year’s only three-way contest, entrepreneur CJ Whelan got 50 percent of the vote, defeating Jack Tate and William Turner. Whelan will take term-limited Ron Weidmann’s District 4 council seat.

Three of the four new council members are political newcomers; Kathy Turley, the city’s new District 1 councilor, ran unsuccessfully for Centennial city council in 2001.



No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment